Starting off on the Right Foot?

I had an unexpected surprise today when I started going through old files. I met my old self.

I got to know this guy again and I found out something interesting. I found out that in some respects he was really smart. Very clever at finding solutions to immediate problems. I also was reminded of stuff that did not work out as planned or expected.

The documents about stuff that did not work out were a lot more interesting than the stuff about success. And I noticed a strategic issue — once I took over a vision of what I thought was “the right thing to do”, it became a whole lot harder to remain objective on whether the right thing to do was possible to achieve.

I think this is pretty common strategic problem. We easily get stuck on “right and wrong” questions and when we do, we take on risks that in hindsight are pretty alarming. We can do better, and a strategic thinking model helps! I had to learn the hard way!

Leave a Reply

